Our People

United Oilseeds employs some of the industry's leading oilseed experts. Our friendly team keeps a constant eye on the market and is always on hand to offer sound, impartial advice to members.

James Warner - Managing Director

James joined the team in April 2023 and has 20 years of experience in the sector, joining from ADM Agriculture. With a thorough understanding of markets and trading his experience is a great asset to the business.

Helen Casey - Financial Director

Helen joined United Oilseeds in March 2016. Helen is responsible for all aspects of United Oilseeds' financial functions.

Owen Cligg - Trading Manager

Owen joined United Oilseeds on 1st June 2009. Prior to this, Owen worked for Wessex Grain Ltd as the company's trading director. Owen is extremely well respected within the industry and has a very successful and proven track record in the marketing and trading of oilseed rape, cereals, pulses and oats.

Beckii Gibbs - Seed Manager

Beckii has worked with United Oilseeds since December 1995. She is responsible for the marketing of the United Oilseeds seed portfolio. Beckii works in conjunction with many of the main seed breeders to provide members with the best advice on varietal selection. Beckii is also a qualified oilseed rape crop inspector.

The Board

The United Oilseeds Board consists of six democratically elected Farmer Directors:


Troy Stuart (Devon)


Dick Hall (Hampshire)

Andrew Cragg (Kent)

Colin McGregor (Berwickshire)

Ben Jackson (Lincolnshire)

Robert Sullivan (County Durham)

Local support

Our team of area managers is the first port of call for farmers who want to know more about any aspect of the oilseeds market, from seed selection and agronomic advice, to guidance on when to sell a finished crop - all in order to maximise farm profitability.

Rape seed illustration